Dear Future Daughter: “Am I Pretty?”

Femininity hasn’t to do with dressing pretty; it has to do with becoming the woman who God created you to do be – stepping into your destiny.

I can already picture it.

You at 3, in your favorite white dress all sparkly and poofy, coming up to me with eyes wide open with curiosity. A flick of hair here, a twirl there, and your heart begging to be delighted in.

“Mommy, mommy, am I pretty?”

I’m going to look you straight in the eyes and tell you the truth.

Yes, love, of course you are.

You might, at 5, walk up to me in jean shorts and your now-favorite “I love daddy” tee. You ask me if it’s okay that you chose your own clothes, that you’re not wearing the pinks I like dressing you in. You ask me if you’re still pretty.

Of course you are, baby.

(And I might inwardly laugh at my failure to impart all my girly).

Then, at 13, you might run crying home from school. The boy you liked didn’t like…

View original post 502 more words

About Doctor Eamer

I am a dreamer. Visit me at http://iamdoctoreamer.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

